Sod House Museum [OK]
Thousands of "soddies" once dotted the prairies of Oklahoma, but only this sod house built in 1894 by Marshal McCully remains. McCully took part in the largest of Oklahoma's land runs when the Cherokee Outlet opened for settlement at noon on September 16, 1893. McCully first lived in a one-room dugout, hollowed out of a ravine bank. He built the two-room sod house in August 1894 using blocks of the thick buffalo grass blanketing Oklahoma's prairies. Although the soddy remains in its original location a cover structure now protects it from the elements. Visitors can enjoy the unique experience of walking through the furnished sod house to imagine what life was like for Oklahoma's early settlers.
The museum offers tours and scavenger hunts (basic for grades 2-3, detailed for grades 4-8). The scavenger hunt is handed out to students after a brief history of the sod house, allowing them to answer questions about the house, surrounding area and find specific artifacts in the museum.
There is also a Trunk Show on kitchen items is for 1-4th grade. This is a hands on program: items are taken out of a trunk and passed around for students to see and feel, with students encouraged to name the item and discuss how it was used and why.