Woodside Store [CA]
D.O. Tripp and Mathias Parkhurst built the Woodside Store in 1854. Early customers included loggers chopping down the redwoods. Dr. Tripp sold them everything from work boots and ax handles to flour and ham. When farmers settled in the area, the Woodside Store served as their county store, post office, and community center until 1909. Today, visitors can browse the shelves of the Woodside Store, restored to its 1880s appearance, and see the goods available in the mid-to-late 1800s—from canned fruit and frying pans to nails and sewing machines.
The store offers exhibits, educational programs, and occasional recreational and educational events (including living history events).