Evanston Historical Society and Charles Gates Dawes House [IL]

Description

The Dawes House was built in 1894–5 on a two-acre site near Lake Michigan. Designed in the style of French chateaux by architect Henry Edwards-Ficken of New York, the massive three-and-a-half story structure has 25 rooms, six bedrooms, seven bathrooms and 11 fireplaces. The house was built for Robert Sheppard and his family; it was purchased by Charles Gates Dawes in 1909 and remained the Dawes family home until 1957 when it was given to Northwestern University to be used as the headquarters of the Evanston Historical Society (now known as the Evanston History Center). Northwestern University gave the house to the EHC in 2009.

The house is open to the public for docent-led tours. The two parlors, formerly used as a reception room and a music room, now feature exhibitions. The library, dining room, and great hall are furnished mostly with original Dawes pieces. A permanent exhibit on Evanston history is located on the second floor, with smaller rotating exhibits on the 2nd floor and in the research room.

The EHC offers lectures, workshops, and other educational programs, as well as community events. School and group tours are available upon request. The EHC maintains an extensive archives of documents, maps, photographs, films, clipping files and other resources and is open to the public during designated hours.

Los Angeles Conservancy [CA]

Description

The Los Angeles Conservancy is dedicated to the recognition, preservation, and revitalization of the architectural and cultural heritage of greater Los Angeles. THe group offers fun activities for adults and kids alike, including youth and family docent-led and self-guided walking tours. They also provide several kids’ guides to historic places in Los Angeles, activities for teachers, parents, and kids, and additional resources to explore the history of L.A.

Visit the website for more information about kids' guides, lesson plans and activities for teachers that adhere to California teaching standards.

Iolani Palace [HI]

Description

A Hawaiian national treasure and the only official state residence of royalty in the United States, 'Iolani Palace was the official residence of the Hawaiian Kingdom's last two monarchs—King Kalakaua, who built the Palace in 1882, and his sister and successor, Queen Lili'uokalani. During the monarchy period, the Palace was the center of social and political activity in the Kingdom of Hawai'i.

The palace offers tours, exhibits, concerts, educational programs, other workshops and classes, and occasional educational and recreational events.

Central Insurance Fire Museum [OH]

Description

Central Insurance started out in 1876 as a fire insurance company. The threat of a disastrous fire was always very real and the equipment used to fight fire primitive. F. W. "Bill" Purmort, Jr., President of Central from 1964 to 1994, first took an interest in collecting fire equipment in 1969. He gradually built Central's museum into one of the finest privately owned collections in the U.S. The museum exhibits a collection of leather fire buckets dating back to the 1700s; over 600 antique fire toys consisting of cast-iron, rubber, glass, tin, and wood construction; a large display of fire extinguishers and glass fire "grenades" dating from the 1850s; a rare and valuable collection of "firemarks" dating back to 1720; a wardrobe of antique fireman helmets and uniforms; Van Wert's first hand-drawn pumper used in 1871; an Ahrens horse-drawn steam pumper which was purchased new in 1907 by the city of Van Wert and restored by Central; and a 1926 Ahrens-Fox pumper, the Rolls Royce of firetrucks.

The museum offers exhibits and tours.

Ritzville's Museums: Dr. Frank R. Burroughs Home and Railroad Depot Museum [WA]

Description

Historic Ritzville maintains two museums. The Burroughs Home was the residence of Ritzville's pioneer physician, Dr. Frank R. Burroughs. It has been restored to its original condition and its collection highlights clothing and household items from the 1890s to the 1920s. The Depot features commercial artifacts relevant to Ritzville around the turn of the century. These include the town's original horse-drawn hearse and a working telegraph machine.

Colonel Allensworth State Historic Park [CA]

Description

In August 1908, Colonel Allen Allensworth and four other settlers established a town founded, financed, and governed by African Americans. Their dream of developing an abundant and thriving community stemmed directly from a strong belief in programs that allowed blacks to help themselves create better lives. By 1910, Allensworth’s success was the focus of many national newspaper articles praising the town and its inhabitants. Today a collection of restored and reconstructed early 20th-century buildings—including the Colonel's house, historic schoolhouse, Baptist church, and library—once again dots this flat farm country.

The park offers a short film, exhibits, tours, and occasional recreational and educational events.

Fort Wayne Firefighters Museum [IN]

Description

In this reconstructed 1893 firehouse, the public is shown how the Fort Wayne Fire Department developed from a volunteer department (1839–1882) to an organization of paid professionals (1882–present). This history is traced from the use of hand pumpers and neighborhood volunteers through the development of the steamers and paid firefighters right up to the present-day firefighters. Almost all of the artifacts in the museum were once used by the Fort Wayne Fire Department. Most were graciously donated to the Museum by present and former firefighters or their families in the hopes that future generations can fully understand just how far the fire service has come in the last century and a half.

The museums offers exhibits and tours.

Montgomery County Historical Society and Museums [MD]

Description

The Society maintains three historical properties, including the Beall-Dawson House, the Stonestreet Museum of 19th-century Medicine, and the Waters House History Center. Visitors can learn about the county's beginnings at the historic 1815 Beall-Dawson House, an elegant federal style townhome that features period rooms and changing exhibits. The museum tour highlights the culture and daily life of both the upper-class Beall family as well as the enslaved African Americans who labored in the house and on the adjacent property. The Stonestreet Museum offers an insider's look into the developments in medical science that occurred during the career of Dr. Edward E. Stonestreet. Built in 1852, this unique one-room Gothic Revival doctor's office features medical artifacts and implements that demonstrate the fascinating changes that occurred in the 19th and early 20th centuries. The Waters House History Center is housed in oldest house in Germantown—built in three parts, the oldest dates to the mid-1790s. It offers exhibits related to local history.

The Society offers educational programs and lectures; the Beall-Dawson House offers exhibits, tours, and occasional educational and recreation events and programs; the Stonestreet Museum offers exhibits and tours; the Center offers exhibits and occasional recreational and educational programs.

Fort Stark Historic Site [NH]

Description

Fort Stark State Historic Site is located on a peninsula historically called Jerry's Point on the southeast corner of New Castle Island. It overlooks the Piscataqua River, Little Harbor, and the Atlantic Ocean. Fort Stark was named in honor of John Stark, commander of New Hampshire forces at the Battle of Bennington (1777). It is one of seven forts built to protect Portsmouth Harbor. A visitor center, located in the old mines building, is open by appointment only.

The site offers exhibits, open by appointment.

Glensheen: Congdon Historic Estate [MN]

Description

Along the shore of Lake Superior, a 7.6-acre expanse of wooded land enfolds the 39-room Jacobean Revival mansion that is Minnesota's premier historic house museum. The interiors of the mansion have endured, boasting nearly all of the same furnishings and décor that graced the rooms when the Congdons' estate was completed in 1908. Even the formal gardens and naturalistic landscape retain much of their original design. Here, visitors are given a look at life in an affluent family home from the turn of the last century.

The site offers tours, educational programs, and occasional recreational and educational events.